OANDA vs XS
A side-by-side comparison built from each broker's own published record — licenses checked against official registers, terms quoted from their own pages, with the source linked on every claim.
| Open account | ||
|---|---|---|
| Regulation | CFTC / NFA · FCA · ASIC · MAS · CIRO · Kanto Local Financial Bureau · BVI Financial Services Commission · KNF | ASIC · CySEC · CMA · FSCA · FSA · LFSA · FSC · MOCI |
| License no. | CFTC / NFA NFA No. 0325821 FCA No. 542574 ASIC AFSL No. 412981 (ABN 26 152 088 349) MAS Capital Markets Services Licence (licence number not printed; Co. Reg. No 200704926K) CIRO not printed on site (CIRO member; CIPF-protected) Kanto Local Financial Bureau Kinsho Registration No. 2137 BVI Financial Services Commission SIBA/L/20/1130 (company no. 2026433) KNF authorization of April 26, 2004 (KPWiG-4021-54-1/2004) | ASIC 374409 CySEC 412/22 CMA 20200000339 (licence category not stated on XS's page) FSCA 53199 FSA SD089 LFSA MB/21/0081 FSC GB25204786 MOCI 513918 on the regulations page; the site footer shows MOCI 2024/786 |
| Founded | 1996 | 2010 |
| Minimum deposit | $0 | $0 |
| EUR/USD spread from | EUR/USD from 1.0 pip (spread-only Standard account) or 0.1 pip + commission (Core pricing) — OANDA Global Markets (BVI), https://www.oanda.com/bvi-en/cfds/our-pricing/ | 0.1 pips average on the Elite account (plus $6 round-turn commission, $500 minimum); 0.7 pips average on Pro ($500 minimum, no commission); 1.1 pips average on Standard (no minimum deposit, no commission) — averages as published by XS |
| Leverage | FCA (UK): Retail 30:1 major forex (3.33% margin); 20:1 non-major forex and gold (5.00% margin) BVI: 200:1 | not specified on the page: Up to 1:2000 with dynamic leverage; margin call 40%, stop out 20% |
| Gulf Payments | ||
| Platforms | OANDA Trade web/desktop portal, OANDA Mobile app (fxTrade), MetaTrader 5, TradingView | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, XS Trading App |
| Broker-published claim | Credit/debit cards: one to three business days; Skrill and Neteller: within one business day; bank or wire transfer: within two to five business days (financial institution may take additional time). [Source] | Published processing times: Neteller instant; Skrill 1 business day; bank transfer 1-7 working days; Visa & MasterCard 7-10 working days. XS states it charges no internal fees for deposits or withdrawals, but reserves the right to apply a withdrawal fee of up to 3% where there has been no trading activity or it identifies abuse. [Source] |
| Withdrawal methods | Visa/Mastercard credit and debit cards, Bank/wire transfer (incl. Wise), Skrill, Neteller, Local alternative payment methods (deposit only; withdrawn back via bank transfer) | Bank transfer, Visa & MasterCard, Skrill, Neteller |
| Crypto deposits/withdrawals | No | No |
| Islamic Accounts | Yes | Yes |
| Measured by us | Testing in progress | Testing in progress |
| Accepts clients from | Australia, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Singapore, Thailand, Mexico, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, Germany, Malaysia, Colombia, Italy, Vietnam, Chile, Indonesia | United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, Turkey |
| Open account | Open account |
We do not name a winner here. The two records sit side by side because the right answer depends on where you live, what you trade, and which entity would onboard you — all of which the table shows.
By Country
- OANDA + XS: United Arab Emirates
- OANDA Yes / XS No: Australia, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Singapore, Thailand, Mexico, Taiwan, Germany, Malaysia, Colombia, Italy, Vietnam, Chile, Indonesia
- XS Yes / OANDA No: Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, Turkey
Is OANDA or XS better?
Neither is better in the abstract. Compare the rows that apply to you: whether each broker accepts clients from your country, which entity and regulator you would be onboarded under, the minimum deposit, and how withdrawals work on the rail you would actually use.
Which is safer, OANDA or XS?
Safety follows the entity that holds your money, not the brand. Both records list every regulator and license number each broker publishes — check which entity serves your country, then verify that license on the regulator's own register.