Where can I trade China A50 index CFDs from Hong Kong?
Verdict
- Pepperstone is where we would trade China A50 CFDs from Hong Kong: it lists CN50 with a published 10-point minimum and 10.2-point average spread, and no commission.
- Retail leverage on major indices at Pepperstone's international entity is up to 1:200; we have not seen CN50 classified separately, so check its margin rate in the platform.
- Hong Kong clients are served by Pepperstone Markets Limited (SCB Bahamas, SIA-F217); Pepperstone holds no SFC licence.
- Capital.com and XS accept Hong Kong residents, but our data holds no China A50 product details for either.
The China A50 index tracks the largest mainland-listed A-shares, which Hong Kong traders often want alongside HK50. Pepperstone lists it as CN50 at a published spread, which makes it our pick. Below is the cost, how it compares with HK50, and what we could not verify.
CN50 at Pepperstone
Pepperstone's index-fees page lists CN50 at a 10-point minimum and 10.2-point average spread (August 2026 data), with no commission, as for all its index CFDs. That gives Hong Kong traders mainland large-cap exposure in the same account as HK50, with no separate mainland account. The account can be held in HKD or USD and traded on MT4, MT5, cTrader, Pepperstone's app, and TradingView with Razor. Two points to confirm in the platform: CN50's trading sessions and its margin rate, neither of which is stated on the pages we verified. Your counterparty is Pepperstone's Bahamas company, not an SFC-licensed firm.
Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
CN50 next to HK50
| CN50 (China A50) | HK50 (Hang Seng) | |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum spread | 10 points | 5 points |
| Average spread | 10.2 points | 5 points |
| Commission | None | None |
| Forward contract listed | Not in our data | HK50-F, 10-point minimum |
| Hours on verified pages | Not stated | Not stated |
What a CN50 trade costs
At a position of US$1 per point, the 10.2-point average spread costs about US$10.20 per round trip; at US$5 per point, about US$51. Nothing is added for commission. Hold past the daily rollover and overnight financing applies, at a rate you can see in the platform's symbol details. Because CN50 tracks mainland shares, it can react to policy news from Beijing outside your usual hours, so a stop-loss may fill well away from its level; Pepperstone does not publish guaranteed stops.
Alternatives
- Capital.com, our second choice, accepts Hong Kong residents and offers guaranteed stops; its China A50 terms are not in our data.
- XS, third, accepts Hong Kong residents and runs MT4 and MT5; we hold no CN50 figures for it.
- For SFC-supervised access, Saxo Capital Markets HK Limited is on the SFC register (CE No. AVD061); we have not verified its index products.
Sources
Pepperstone published spreads and the SFC register.
What is Pepperstone's symbol for China A50?
CN50, listed on its index-fees page with a 10.2-point average spread.
Do I need a mainland China account to trade CN50?
No. CN50 is a CFD tracking the index price, traded in your Pepperstone account in HKD, USD or another base currency.
Is CN50 more expensive than HK50 at Pepperstone?
In points, yes: 10.2 points average against 5. Compare the cost relative to each index level and your position size.
CFDs are complex, leveraged products with a high risk of losing money quickly. Make sure you understand how they work and can afford the risk before you trade. This page is not investment advice; check each broker's current terms on its own site.